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ARTICLE 2. PHARMACIST LICENSURE 

 

R4-23-201.  General 

A.  License required. Before practicing as a pharmacist in Arizona, a person shall possess a  

 valid pharmacist license issued by the Board. There is no temporary licensure. 

B.  Methods of licensure. Licensure as a pharmacist shall be either: 

 1.  By practical examination, using paper and pencil written testing, computer adaptive  

  testing, or other Board-approved testing method; or 

 2.  By reciprocity. 

C.  Practicing pharmacist holding a delinquent license. Before the Board reinstates an Arizona  

pharmacist license, a pharmacist, whose Arizona pharmacist license is delinquent for five  

or more years and who is practicing pharmacy outside the Board's jurisdiction with a  

pharmacist license issued by another jurisdiction, shall: 

1.  Pass the MPJE or other Board-approved jurisprudence examination,  

2.  Pay all delinquent annual renewal fees, and 

3.  Pay penalty fees. 

D.  Non-practicing pharmacist holding a delinquent license. Before the Board reinstates an  

Arizona pharmacist license, a pharmacist, whose Arizona pharmacist license is delinquent  

for five or more years and who did not practice pharmacy within the last 12 months before  

seeking reinstatement, shall: 

1.  Complete the requirements in subsection (C), and 

2.  Appear before the Board to furnish satisfactory proof of fitness to be licensed as a  

pharmacist. 
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E. Verification of license. A pharmacy permittee or pharmacist-in-charge shall not permit a  

 person to practice as a pharmacist until the pharmacy permittee or pharmacist-in-charge  

 verifies that the person is currently licensed by the Board as a pharmacist. 

 

R4-23-202. Licensure by Examination  

A. Eligibility. To be eligible for licensure as a pharmacist by examination, a person shall: 

1. Have an undergraduate a degree in pharmacy from a school or college of pharmacy  

 approved by the Board as specified in A.R.S. § 32-1935, and whose professional  

 degree program, at the time the person graduates, is accredited by the American  

 Council on Pharmaceutical Education Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education;  

 or 

 2. Qualify under the requirements of A.R.S. § 32-1922(D); and 

 3. Complete not less than 1500 hours of intern training as specified in R4-23-303. 

B. Application. 

 1. An applicant for licensure by examination shall file with the Board office:  

  a. A Submit a completed application for licensure by examination form,  

   electronically or manually on a form furnished by the Board, and 

  b. A completed NAPLEX registration form or ensure receipt of an official NABP 

   score transfer report through the Board office online computer link with NABP 

   indicating the applicant’s score on the NAPLEX taken in another jurisdiction,  

   and Submit with the application form: 

    i.   The documents specified in the application form, and 

    ii.  The application fee specified in R4-23-205(C).  

  c. A completed MPJE registration form.  

 2. The Board office shall deem an application or registration form received on the date  
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  that the Board office stamps on the form when the Board office receives the  

  form form received on the date the Board office electronically or manually date- 

  stamps the form. The Board office shall deem a score transfer received on the date  

  that the NABP transmits the applicant's official NABP score transfer report through  

  the online computer link to the Board office. 

 3. An applicant for licensure by examination shall: 

  a. Make application on a form furnished by the Board, and 

  b. Submit with the application for licensure by examination form: 

  i. The documents specified in the application form, and 

    ii. The application fee specified in R4-23-205(C) made payable to the  

     Arizona State Board of Pharmacy by money order or certified or personal  

     check. 

 4.3. An applicant for licensure by examination shall: 

  a. Register register for NAPLEX and MPJE on forms furnished by the Board or  

   NABP; and through NABP’s registration process. 

  b. Submit with the registration forms: 

   i. The documents specified in the registration forms, and 

  ii. The application fee specified by and made payable to NABP by money  

   order, certified check, or bank draft. 

 5.4. The Board shall deem an application for licensure by examination or a NAPLEX or  

  MPJE registration to be invalid after 12 months from the date the Board office  

 determines an application or registration form is complete application is received.  

 An applicant whose application or registration form is invalid and who wishes to  

  continue licensure procedures, shall submit a new application or registration form and  

  fee as specified in R4-23-205(C).  
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C. Passing grade; notification; re-examination. 

 1. To pass the required examinations, an applicant shall obtain a score of at least 75 on  

  both the NAPLEX and MPJE.  

 2. The Board office shall: 

a.  Retrieve an applicant's NAPLEX and MPJE score from the NABP online  

 database no later than two weeks after the applicant's examination date;, and 

  b.  Mail an applicant's NAPLEX and MPJE score to the applicant Provide written  

   notice by mail to an applicant who fails the NAPLEX or MPJE no later than  

   seven days after the Board office receives retrieves the applicant's score from  

   NABP.  

 3. An applicant who fails the NAPLEX or MPJE may apply register with the NABP to  

 retake the examination within the 12-month period defined in subsection (B)(5)(4). 

 An applicant applying to retake an examination shall submit to the Board office a  

  completed NAPLEX or MPJE registration form and pay the examination fee  

  specified by and made payable to NABP by money order, certified check, or bank  

  draft. An applicant who fails the NAPLEX or MPJE three times shall petition the  

  Board for permission as specified in R4-23-401 for Board approval before retaking  

  the examination. 

 4. For the purpose of licensure by examination, the Board office shall deem a passing  

  score on the NAPLEX or MPJE invalid after 24 months from the applicant’s  

  examination date. An applicant who fails to complete the licensure process within the  

  24 month period, and who wishes to continue licensure procedures, shall retake the  

  examination(s). 

D. NAPLEX score transfer. 

 1. The Board office shall deem a score transfer received on the date the NABP transmits  
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  the applicant’s official score transfer report to the Board office.  

 1.2. An applicant who receives a passing score on the NAPLEX taken in another  

  jurisdiction shall, within 12 months from the date the Board office receives the  

  applicant's official NABP score transfer report from the NABP, make application for  

  licensure according to subsection (B). After 12 months, an applicant may reapply for  

  licensure in this state under the provisions of subsection (B) or R4-23-203(B).  

 2.3. An applicant who takes the NAPLEX in another jurisdiction and fails the examination  

  may apply for licensure in this state under the provisions of subsection (B). 

E. Licensure. The Board office shall issue a certificate of licensure to a successful applicant  

 upon receipt of the licensure fee specified in R4-23-205(A)(1)(a). The Board office shall: 

 1. Provide a receipt for payment of the licensure fee to an applicant who delivers a  

  payment in person, or The Board office shall issue a certificate of licensure and a wall  

  license to a successful applicant upon receipt of: 

  a. The initial licensure fee specified in R4-23-205(A)(1)(a), and  

  b. The wall license fee specified in R4-23-205(E)(1)(a). 

 2. Mail a receipt for payment of the licensure fee to an applicant within one working day  

  of receiving the payment by mail or other delivery service. A licensee shall maintain  

  the certificate of licensure in the practice site for inspection by the Board or its  

  designee or review by the public. 

F. Time-frames for licensure by examination. 

 1. The Board office shall complete an administrative completeness review within 20 60 

  days from the date of receipt of an application or registration form the application  

  form is received. 

  a. The Board office shall issue a written notice of administrative completeness to  

   the applicant if no deficiencies are found in the application or registration form. 
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  b. If the application or registration form is incomplete, the Board office shall  

   provide the applicant with a written notice that includes a comprehensive list of  

   the missing information. The 20 60-day time-frame for the Board office to  

   finish the administrative completeness review is suspended from the date the  

   notice of incompleteness is served until the applicant provides the Board office  

   with all missing information.  

  c. If the Board office does not provide the applicant with written notice regarding  

   administrative completeness, the application or registration form shall be 

   deemed complete 20  60 days after receipt by the Board office. 

 2. An applicant with an incomplete application or registration form shall submit all of  

  the missing information within 30 90 days of service of the notice of incompleteness.  

  a. If an applicant cannot submit all missing information within 30 90 days of  

   service of the notice of incompleteness, the applicant may send a written request  

   for an extension to the Board office postmarked or delivered no later than 30 90  

   days from service of the notice of incompleteness.  

  b. The written request for an extension shall document the reasons the applicant is  

   unable to meet the 30 90-day deadline.  

  c. The Board office shall review the request for an extension of the 30 90-day  

   deadline and grant the request if the Board office determines that an extension  

   of the deadline will enable the applicant to assemble and submit the missing  

   information. An extension shall be for no more than 30 days. The Board office  

   shall notify the applicant in writing of its decision to grant or deny the request  

  for an extension. An applicant who requires an additional extension shall submit  

  an additional written request according to this subsection. 

 3. If an applicant fails to submit a complete application or registration form within the  
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  time allowed, the Board office shall close the applicant's file. An applicant whose file  

  is closed and who later wishes to obtain a license shall apply again according to  

  subsection (B).  

 4. The Board office shall complete a substantive review of the applicant's qualifications  

  in no more than 20 120 days from the date on which the administrative completeness  

  review of an application or registration form is complete.  

  a. If an applicant is found to be ineligible for licensure by examination, the Board  

   office shall issue a written notice of denial to the applicant.  

  b. If an applicant is found to be eligible to take the NAPLEX, the Board office  

   shall issue a written notice of eligibility to the applicant and the NABP notify  

   the NABP that the applicant is eligible to test. The NABP shall issue the  

   applicant an authorization to test letter. 

  c. If an applicant is found to be eligible to take the MPJE, the Board office shall  

   issue a written notice of eligibility to the applicant and the NABP notify the  

   NABP that the applicant is eligible to test. The NABP shall issue the applicant  

   an authorization to test letter. 

  d. The Board office shall deem an applicant’s eligibility to test invalid after 12  

   months from the date the application for licensure by examination is received. 

  d.e. If the Board office finds deficiencies during the substantive review of an  

   application or registration form, the Board office shall issue a written request to  

   the applicant for additional documentation.  

  e.f. The 20 120-day time-frame for a substantive review of eligibility to take the  

   NAPLEX or MPJE is suspended from the date of a written request for  

   additional documentation until the date that all documentation is received. The  

   applicant shall submit the additional documentation according to subsection  
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   (F)(2).  

  f.g. If the applicant and the Board office mutually agree in writing, the 20 120-day  

   substantive review time-frame may be extended once for no more than 10 45  

   days.  

 5. For the purpose of A.R.S. § 41-1072 et seq., the Board establishes the following time- 

  frames for licensure by examination. 

  a. Administrative completeness review time-frame: 20 60 days.  

  b. Substantive review time-frame: 20 120 days.  

  c. Overall time-frame: 40 180 days. 

G. License renewal. 

 1. To renew a license, a pharmacist shall submit a completed license renewal application  

  electronically or manually on a form furnished by the Board with the biennial renewal  

  fee specified in R4-23-205(A)(1)(b). 

 2. If the biennial renewal fee is not paid by November 1 of the renewal year specified in  

  A.R.S. § 32-1925, the pharmacist license is suspended and the licensee shall not  

  practice as a pharmacist. The licensee shall pay a penalty as provided in A.R.S. § 32- 

  1925 and R4-23-205(G)(1) to vacate the suspension. 

 3. A licensee shall maintain the renewal certificate of licensure in the practice site for  

  inspection by the Board or its designee or review by the public. 

 4. Time-frames for license renewals. The Board office shall follow the time-frames  

  established in subsection (F). 

 

R4-23-203.  Licensure by Reciprocity 

A. Eligibility. A person is eligible for licensure by reciprocity who: 

 1. Is licensed as a pharmacist in a jurisdiction that provides reciprocity to Arizona  
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  licensees;,  

 2. Has passed the NABPLEX or NAPLEX with a score of 75 or better or was licensed  

  by examination in another jurisdiction having essentially the same standards for  

  licensure as this state at the time the pharmacist was licensed;,  

 3. Provides evidence to the Board of having completed the required secondary and  

  professional education and training specified in R4-23-202(A);,  

 4. Has engaged in the practice of pharmacy for at least one year or has met the  

  internship requirements of Article 3 within the year immediately before the date of  

  application;, and  

 5. Has actively practiced as a pharmacist for 400 or more hours within the last calendar  

  year or has an Arizona graduate intern license and has completed 400 hours of  

  internship training in a Board-approved internship training site.  

B.  Application. 

 1. An applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall file with the Board office: 

  a. A Submit a completed application for licensure by reciprocity form; 

   electronically or manually on a form furnished by the Board, and 

  b.  A completed MPJE registration form. Submit with the application form: 

   i. The documents specified in the application form, and 

   ii. The reciprocity fee specified in R4-23-205(B). 

 2. The Board office shall deem an application or registration form received on the date  

  that the Board office stamps on the application or registration form when the Board  

  office receives the form form received on the date the Board office electronically or  

  manually date-stamps the form. 

 3. An applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall: 

  a. Make application on a form furnished by the Board, and 
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  b. Submit with the application for licensure by reciprocity form: 

  i. The documents specified in the application form, and 

  ii. The reciprocity and application fee specified in R4-23-205(B) and (C) and  

   made payable to the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy by money order or  

   certified or personal check. 

 4.3. An applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall: 

  a. Register register for MPJE on a form furnished by the Board or NABP; and  

   through NABP’s registration process. 

  b. Submit with the registration form: 

  i. The documents specified in the registration form; and 

  ii. The application fee specified by and made payable to NABP by money  

   order, certified check, or bank draft. 

 5.4. The Board office shall deem an application for licensure by reciprocity form or MPJE 

  registration invalid after 12 months from the date the Board office determines an  

  application or registration form is complete application is received. An applicant  

  whose application or registration form is invalid and who wishes to continue licensure  

  procedures, shall submit a new application or registration form and fee as specified in  

  R4-23-205(B). 

C. Passing grade; notification; re-examination. 

 1. To pass the required examination, an applicant shall obtain a score of at least 75 on  

  the MPJE.  

 2. The Board office shall: 

  a. Retrieve an applicant's MPJE score from the NABP online database no later  

   than two weeks after the applicant's examination date;, and 

  b. Mail an applicant's MPJE score to the applicant Provide written notice by mail  
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   to an applicant who fails the MPJE no later than seven days after the Board  

   office receives retrieves the applicant's score from NABP.  

 3. An applicant who fails the MPJE may apply register with the NABP to retake the  

  examination within the 12-month period specified in subsection (B)(5)(4). An  

  applicant applying to retake an examination shall submit to the Board office a  

  completed MPJE registration form and pay the examination fee specified by and  

  made payable to NABP by money order, certified check, or bank draft. An applicant  

  who fails the MPJE three times shall petition the Board for permission as specified in  

  R4-23-401 for Board approval before retaking the examination.  

 4. For the purpose of licensure by reciprocity, the Board office shall deem a passing  

  score on the MPJE invalid after 24 months from the applicant’s examination date. An  

  applicant who fails to complete the licensure process within the 24 month period, and  

  who wishes to continue licensure procedures, shall retake the examination. 

D.  Licensure. The Board office shall issue a certificate of licensure to a successful applicant  

 upon receipt of the licensure fee specified in R4-23-205(A)(1)(a). The Board office shall: 

 1. Provide a receipt for payment of the licensure fee to an applicant who delivers a  

  payment in person; or The Board office shall issue a certificate of licensure and a wall  

  license to a successful applicant upon receipt of: 

  a. The initial licensure fee specified in R4-23-205(A)(1)(a), and 

  b. The wall license fee specified in R4-23-205(E)(1)(a). 

 2. Mail a receipt for payment of the licensure fee to an applicant within one working day  

  of receiving the payment by mail or other delivery service. A licensee shall maintain  

  the certificate of licensure in the practice site for inspection by the Board or its  

  designee or review by the public. 

E. Time-frames for licensure by reciprocity. The Board office shall follow the time-frames  
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 established for licensure by examination in R4-23-202(F). 

F. License renewal. License renewal shall be the same as specified in R4-23-202(G). 

 

ARTICLE 3. INTERN TRAINING AND PHARMACY INTERN PRECEPTORS 

 

R4-23-301.  Intern Licensure 

A.  Licensure as a pharmacy intern or graduate intern is for the purpose of complementing the  

 individual's academic or experiential education in preparation for licensure as a pharmacist.  

 An applicant may request a waiver of intern licensure requirements by submitting a written  

 request as specified in R4-23-401 and appearing in person at a Board meeting. 

B.  The prerequisites for licensure as a pharmacy intern are: 

1.  Current enrollment, in good standing, in a Board-approved college or school of  

 pharmacy; or 

2.  Graduation from a college or school of pharmacy that is not approved by the Board;  

 and 

3.  Proof that the applicant is certified by the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination 

  Committee (FPGEC); or 

4.  By order of the Board if the Board determines the applicant needs intern training. 

C.  If a pharmacy intern licensee stops attending pharmacy school classes before completing  

 the pharmacy school's requirements for graduation, the licensee shall immediately stop  

 practicing as a pharmacy intern and surrender the pharmacy intern license to the Board or  

 the Board's designee no later than 30 days after the date of the last attended class, unless  

 the licensee requests and is granted permission by the Board petitions the Board as  
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 specified in R4-23-401 and receives Board approval to continue working as a pharmacy  

 intern. A student re-entering a pharmacy program who wishes to continue internship  

 training shall reapply for pharmacy intern licensure. 

D.  The prerequisites for licensure as a graduate intern are: 

1. Graduate Graduation from a Board-approved college or school of pharmacy, and 

2.  Apply Application for licensure as a pharmacist by examination or reciprocity, or 

3.  By order of the Board if the Board determines that the applicant needs intern training. 

E.  Experiential training. Intern training shall include the activities and services encompassed  

 by the term "practice of pharmacy" as defined in A.R.S. § 32-1901. 

F. Out-of-state experiential training. An intern shall receive credit for intern training received  

outside this state if the Board determines that the intern training requirements of the  

jurisdiction in which the training was received are equal to the minimum requirements for  

intern training in this state. An applicant seeking credit for intern training received outside  

this state shall furnish a certified copy of the records of intern training from: 

1.  The board of pharmacy or the intern licensing agency of the other jurisdiction where  

 the training was received; or 

2.  In a jurisdiction without an intern licensing agency, the director of the applicant's  

 Board-approved college or school of pharmacy's experiential training program. 

G.  Management required to verify intern's qualifications. Verification of license. An owner,  

 manager, A pharmacy permittee or pharmacist-in-charge shall not permit a person to act  

 practice as a pharmacy or graduate intern until the owner, manager, pharmacy permittee or  

 pharmacist-in-charge verifies that the person is currently licensed by the Board as a  

 pharmacy or graduate intern. 
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H. Intern application. An applicant for licensure as a pharmacy intern or graduate intern shall: 

1.  Ensure that the applicant's college or school of pharmacy provides documentation to  

 the Board of the applicant's current enrollment or graduation; and An applicant for  

 licensure as a pharmacy intern or graduate intern shall: 

 a. Submit a completed application electronically or manually on a form furnished  

  by the Board, and 

 b. Submit with the application form: 

  i. The documents specified in the application form,  

  ii. The initial licensure fee specified in R4-23-205(A)(2), and 

  iii. The wall license fee specified in R4-23-205(E)(1)(b). 

2.  File an application on a form furnished by the Board, that includes: The Board office  

 shall deem an application form received on the date the Board office electronically  

 or manually date-stamps the form. 

a.  Applicant's name, address, mailing address, if different, telephone number, and  

 social security number; 

b.  Name and address of college or school of pharmacy attending or attended,  

 degree anticipated or received, and anticipated date or date of graduation; 

c.  Whether the applicant has ever been convicted of an offense involving moral 

 turpitude, a felony offense, or any drug-related offense or has any currently  

 pending felony or drug-related charges, and if so, indicate charge, conviction  

 date, jurisdiction, and location; 

 d.  Whether the applicant has ever had an intern license revoked, suspended, or  

  denied in this state or any other jurisdiction, and if so, indicate where and when; 
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e.  If  the applicant graduated from an unapproved college or school of pharmacy, a  

 notarized copy of the applicant's Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination  

 Committee (FPGEC) certification document; 

f.  Date signed and applicant's verified signature; and 

g.  The initial licensure fee specified in R4-23-205.  

I.  Licensure. Within seven business days of receipt of a completed application, fees, and  

 other information specified in subsection (H), the Board office shall determine whether an  

 application is complete. If the application is complete, the Board office shall issue a license  

 number and mail a current renewal receipt to an applicant. An applicant who is issued a  

 license number may begin practice as a pharmacy intern or graduate intern. The initial  

 licensure fee shall include the issuance of a wall certificate. The Board office shall mail the  

 wall certificate to the licensee within 14 days of issuing the license number. If the 

 application is incomplete, the Board office shall issue a notice of incompleteness. An  

 applicant with an incomplete application shall comply with the requirements of R4-23- 

 202(F)(2) and (3). 

 1. If an applicant is found to be ineligible for intern licensure under statute and rule, the  

  Board office shall issue a written notice of denial to the applicant. 

 2. If an applicant is found to be eligible for intern licensure under statute and rule, the  

  Board office shall issue a certificate of licensure and a wall license. An applicant who  

  is assigned a license number and who has been granted “open” status on the Board’s  

  license verification site may begin practice as a pharmacy intern or graduate intern  

  prior to receiving the certificate of licensure. 

 3. An applicant who is assigned a license number and who has a “pending” status on the  
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  Board’s license verification site shall not practice as a pharmacy intern or graduate  

  intern until the Board office issues a certificate of licensure as specified in subsection  

  (2). 

 4. A licensee shall maintain the certificate of licensure in the practice site for  

  inspection by the Board or its designee or review by the public. 

J. Time-frames for intern licensure. The Board office shall follow the time-frames established  

 in R4-23-202(F). 

J.K.  License renewal. A pharmacy intern whose license expires before the intern completes the  

education or training required for licensure as a pharmacist but less than six years  

after the issuance of the initial pharmacy intern license may renew the intern license  

for a period equal to the difference between the expiration date of the initial intern  

license and six years from the issue date of the initial intern license by payment of a  

prorated renewal fee based on the initial license fee specified in R4-23-205. If a pharmacy  

intern fails to graduate from a Board-approved college or school of pharmacy within six  

years from the date the Board issues the initial intern license, the intern is not eligible for  

relicensure as an intern unless the intern obtains Board approval as specified in A.R.S. §  

32-1923(E). To remain in good standing, an intern who receives Board approval for  

relicensure shall pay a prorated renewal fee for the number of months of licensure  

approved by the Board based on the initial license fee specified in R4-23-205 before the  

license expiration date. If an intern receives Board approval for relicensure and does not  

pay the renewal fee specified in this subsection before the license expiration date, the  

intern license is suspended and the intern shall pay a penalty as provided in A.R.S. § 32- 

1925 to vacate the suspension.  
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 1.  A pharmacy intern whose license expires before the intern completes the  

education or training required for licensure as a pharmacist but less than six years  

after the issuance of the initial pharmacy intern license may renew the intern license  

for a period equal to the difference between the expiration date of the initial intern  

license and six years from the issue date of the initial intern license by payment of a  

prorated renewal fee based on the initial license fee specified in R4-23-205(A)(2). 

2. If a pharmacy intern fails to graduate from a Board-approved college or school of  

 pharmacy within six years from the date the Board issues the initial intern license, the  

 intern is not eligible for relicensure as an intern unless the intern obtains Board  

 approval as specified in A.R.S. § 32-1923(E) and R4-23-401. To remain in good  

 standing, an intern who receives Board approval for relicensure shall pay a prorated  

 renewal fee for the number of months of licensure approved by the Board based on  

 the initial license fee specified in R4-23-205(A)(2) before the license expiration date.  

3. If an intern receives Board approval for relicensure and does not pay the renewal fee  

 specified in subsection (2) before the license expiration date, the intern license is  

 suspended and the licensee shall not practice as an intern. The licensee shall pay a  

 penalty as provided in A.R.S. § 32-1925 and R4-23-205(G)(1) to vacate the  

 suspension. 

K.L.  Notification of training. 

1.  A pharmacy intern who is employed as an intern outside the experiential training  

 program of a Board-approved college or school of pharmacy or a graduate intern shall  

 notify the Board within ten days of starting or terminating training, or changing  

 training site. 
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2.  The director of a Board-approved college or school of pharmacy's experiential  

 training program shall provide the Board an intern training report as specified in R4- 

 23-304(B)(3). 

 

R4-23-304.  Reports 

A.  Change of employment or mailing address. A pharmacy intern or graduate intern shall  

 notify the Board within 10 ten days of change of employment or mailing address. 

B.  Annual reports.  

1.  A pharmacy intern who is a graduate of a college or school of pharmacy that is not  

 approved by the Board or is a graduate intern shall provide the Board annual intern  

 training reports for the duration of training. The pharmacy intern shall file an annual 

 intern training report on a report form provided by the Board by calendar year  

 (January 1st through December 31st). An annual intern training report shall be  

 received at the Board’s office no later than 30 days after the end of the calendar year.  

 The Board shall write the intern to acknowledge  receipt of the reports and notify the  

 intern of the remaining hours of training necessary for licensure. Any intern training  

 hours reported to the Board office more than 30 days after the end of the calendar  

 year in which the training hours were performed shall not be credited toward the total  

 intern training hours required for licensure. 

2.  After graduation and before sitting for the NAPLEX or MPJE, a pharmacy intern who  

 is a graduate of a Board-approved college or school of pharmacy shall ensure that the  

 director of the Board-approved college or school of pharmacy's experiential training  

 program provides the Board an intern training report that includes: 
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 a.  The dates and number of training hours experienced, by training site and total;  

  and 

b.  The date signed and experiential training program director's signature verifying  

 that the pharmacy intern successfully completed the experiential training  

 program. 

 

ARTICLE 11. PHARMACY TECHNICIANS 

 

R4-23-1102.  Pharmacy Technician Licensure 

A.  Application Eligibility. An applicant for licensure as a pharmacy technician shall: 

1.  Provide provide the Board proof that the applicant is eligible under R4-23- 

 1101(B)(2), including documentation that the applicant: 

 a.1. Completed a pharmacy technician training program that meets the standards  

prescribed in R4-23-1105(B)(2); and  

 b.2.  Passed the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) examination or  

another Board-approved pharmacy technician examination; or 

 c.3. Meets the requirements of R4-23-1105(D)(1) or (2);. 

2.  File an application on a form furnished by the Board, that includes:  

a.  Applicant's name, address, mailing address, if different, telephone number, and  

 social security number; 

   b.  Whether the applicant has ever been convicted of an offense involving moral  

 turpitude, a felony offense, or any drug-related offense or has any currently  

 pending felony or drug-related charge, and if so, indicate charge, charge date,  
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 conviction date, and jurisdiction; 

 c.  Whether the applicant has ever had a pharmacy technician license revoked,  

 suspended, or has a pending revocation or suspension action, or denied in this  

 state or any other jurisdiction, and if so, indicate where and when; 

d.  Pharmacy name and address where the pharmacy technician will practice; 

e.  Date signed and applicant's verified signature; and 

f.  The wall license and initial licensure fees specified in R4-23-205. 

B. Application. 

 1. An applicant for licensure as a pharmacy technician shall: 

  a. Submit a completed application electronically or manually on a form furnished  

   by the Board, and 

  b. Submit with the application form: 

   i. The documents specified in the application form, 

   ii. The initial licensure fee specified in R4-23-205(A)(3)(a), and 

   iii. The wall license fee specified in R4-23-205(E)(1)(c). 

 2. The Board office shall deem an application form received on the date the Board  

  office electronically or manually date-stamps the form. 

B.C.  Licensure. Within seven business days of receipt of a completed application, fees, and  

 other information specified in subsection (A), the Board office shall determine whether the  

 application is complete. If the application is complete, the Board shall assess whether the  

 applicant is qualified under statute and rule. If the applicant is qualified, the Board office  

 shall issue a license number and mail a license to the applicant. An applicant who is issued  

 a license number may begin practice as a pharmacy technician. The Board office shall mail  
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 a wall license to the licensee within 14 days of issuing the license number. 

 1. If an applicant is found to be ineligible for pharmacy technician licensure under  

  statute and rule, the Board office shall issue a written notice of denial to the applicant. 

 2. If an applicant is found to be eligible for pharmacy technician licensure under statute  

  and rule, the Board office shall issue a certificate of licensure and a wall license. An  

  applicant who is assigned a license number and who has been granted “open” status  

  on the Board’s license verification site may begin practice as a pharmacy technician  

  prior to receiving the certificate of licensure. 

 3. An applicant who is assigned a license number and who has a “pending” status on the  

  Board’s license verification site shall not practice as a pharmacy technician until the  

  Board office issues a certificate of licensure as specified in subsection (2). 

 4. A licensee shall maintain the certificate of licensure in the practice site for  

  inspection by the Board or its designee or review by the public. 

C.D. License renewal. To renew a license, a pharmacy technician shall submit a license renewal  

 form supplied by the Board with the biennial renewal fee specified in R4-23-205. The  

Board office will process the application for renewal in the same manner described in  

subsection (B). 

 1. To renew a license, a pharmacy technician shall submit a completed license renewal  

  application electronically or manually on a form furnished by the Board with the  

  biennial renewal fee specified in R4-23-205(A)(3)(b).  

 2. If the biennial renewal fee is not paid by November 1 of the renewal year specified in 

  A.R.S. § 32-1925, the pharmacy technician license is suspended and the licensee shall  

  not practice as a pharmacy technician. The licensee shall pay a penalty as provided in  
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  A.R.S. § 32-1925 and R4-23-205(G)(1) to vacate the suspension. 

3. A licensee shall maintain the renewal certificate of licensure in the practice site for  

 inspection by the Board or its designee or review by the public. 

D.  If the biennial renewal fee is not paid by November 1 of the renewal year specified in  

 A.R.S. § 32-1925, the pharmacy technician license is suspended and the licensee shall  

 pay a penalty as provided in A.R.S. § 32-1925 and R4-23-205 to vacate the suspension. 

E. Time-frames for pharmacy technician licensure and license renewal. The Board office shall  

 follow the time-frames established in R4-23-202(F). 

F. Verification of license. A pharmacy permittee or pharmacist-in-charge shall not permit a  

 person to practice as a pharmacy technician until the pharmacy permittee or pharmacist-in- 

 charge verifies that the person is currently licensed by the Board as a pharmacy technician. 

 

R4-23-1103.  Pharmacy Technician Trainee Licensure 

A.  Application Eligibility. An applicant for licensure as a pharmacy technician trainee shall: 

1.  Provide provide the Board proof that the applicant is eligible under R4-23- 

 1101(B)(1); and. 

2.  File an application on a form furnished by the Board, that includes: 

a.  Applicant's name, address, mailing address, if different, telephone number, and  

 social security number; 

b.  Whether the applicant has ever been convicted of an offense involving moral  

 turpitude, a felony offense, or any drug-related offense or has any currently  

 pending felony or drug-related charge, and if so, indicate charge, charge date,  

 conviction date, and jurisdiction; 

c.  Whether the applicant has ever had a pharmacy technician or pharmacy  
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 technician trainee license revoked, suspended, or has a pending revocation or  

 suspension action, or denied in this state or any other jurisdiction, and if so,  

 indicate where and when; 

d.  Pharmacy name and address where the pharmacy technician trainee will  

 complete the pharmacy technician training program; 

e.  Date signed and applicant's verified signature; and 

f.  The wall license and initial licensure fees specified in R4-23-205. 

B. Application. 

 1. An applicant for licensure as a pharmacy technician trainee shall: 

  a. Submit a completed application electronically or manually on a form furnished  

   by the Board, and 

  b. Submit with the application form: 

   i. The documents specified in the application form, 

   ii. The licensure fee specified in R4-23-205(A)(4), and 

   iii. The wall license fee specified in R4-23-205(E)(1)(d).  

 2. The Board office shall deem an application form received on the date the Board  

  office electronically or manually date-stamps the form. 

B.C.  Licensure. 

1.  Within seven business days of receipt of a completed application, fees, and other  

 information specified in subsection (A), the Board office shall determine whether the  

 application is complete. If the application is complete, the Board shall assess whether  

 the applicant is qualified under statute and rule. If the applicant is qualified, the Board  

 office shall issue a license number and mail a license to the applicant. An applicant  
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 who is issued a license number may begin practice as a pharmacy technician trainee.  

 The Board office shall mail a wall license to the licensee within 14 days of issuing the  

 license number. A pharmacy technician trainee license is valid for 24 months from  

  the date issued.  

 2. A pharmacy technician trainee who does not complete the prescribed training  

  program and pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) examination  

  or another Board-approved pharmacy technician examination before the pharmacy  

 technician trainee's license expires is not eligible for licensure as a pharmacy  

 technician and shall not practice as a pharmacy technician or pharmacy technician  

 trainee. 

  1. If an applicant is found to be ineligible for pharmacy technician trainee licensure  

  under statute and rule, the Board office shall issue a written notice of denial to the  

  applicant. 

 2. If an applicant is found to be eligible for pharmacy technician trainee licensure under  

  statute and rule, the Board office shall issue a certificate of licensure and a wall  

  license. An applicant who is assigned a license number and who has been granted  

  “open” status on the Board’s license verification site may begin practice as a  

  pharmacy technician trainee prior to receiving the certificate of licensure. 

 3. An applicant who is assigned a license number and who has a “pending” status on the  

  Board’s license verification site shall not practice as a pharmacy technician trainee  

  until the Board office issues a certificate of licensure as specified in subsection (2). 

 4. A licensee shall maintain the certificate of licensure in the practice site for  

  inspection by the Board or its designee or review by the public. 
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 5.  A pharmacy technician trainee license is valid for 24 months from the date issued. A  

 pharmacy technician trainee who does not complete the prescribed training program  

 and pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) examination or  

 another Board-approved pharmacy technician examination before the pharmacy  

 technician trainee's license expires is not eligible for licensure as a pharmacy  

 technician and shall not practice as a pharmacy technician or pharmacy technician  

 trainee. 

C.D.  Re-application for licensure. 

 1. The Board may allow a pharmacy technician trainee whose license expires before the  

pharmacy technician trainee completes the prescribed training program and passes the  

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) examination or another Board- 

approved pharmacy technician examination to reapply for licensure not more than  

one time. A pharmacy technician trainee whose license has expired may make a  

special request to the Board under R4-23-401 for approval to reapply for licensure. 

 D.2. The Board shall base its decision to grant or deny a special request to reapply for  

  licensure on an assessment of: 

 1.a. The reasons the pharmacy technician trainee did not complete a pharmacy  

  technician training program and the likelihood that the pharmacy technician  

  trainee will complete a pharmacy technician training program within the next 24  

  months, 

 2.b.  The reasons the pharmacy technician trainee failed the pharmacy technician  

  examination and the likelihood that the pharmacy technician trainee will pass 

   the pharmacy technician examination within the next 24 months, and 
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 3.c.  Other extenuating circumstances. 

 3. A pharmacy technician trainee that receives Board approval to reapply for licensure  

  shall submit a completed application manually on a form furnished by the Board and  

  pay the licensure fee specified in R4-23-205(A)(4). 

E. Time-frames for pharmacy technician trainee licensure. The Board office shall follow the  

 time-frames established in R4-23-202(F). 

F. Verification of license. A pharmacy permittee or pharmacist-in-charge shall not permit a  

 person to practice as a pharmacy technician trainee until the pharmacy permittee or  

 pharmacist-in-charge verifies that the person is currently licensed by the Board as a  

 pharmacy technician trainee. 


